WellSaid vs Speechify: Delivery Studio or Reading Tool?
WellSaid and Speechify overlap on synthetic speech but not on deliverables. A side-by-side of licensing, export formats, language counts, and annual cost, with sources.
Choose WellSaid when the output has to survive a client handoff: a commercial licence, a subtitle file, and a WAV on the business tier. Choose Speechify when the job is listening, proofing, or reading across many languages, and the audio is for internal use. The two products are often compared because both generate speech, but they are answering different questions.
Our 2026 ranking puts WellSaid third and Speechify Studio fourth. This post explains the gap between those positions, and the places where the comparison is genuinely close.
Side by side
| What we compared | WellSaid | Speechify |
|---|---|---|
| Product centre | voice over studio | reading and listening, with a studio product |
| Free entry | 3 download minutes per month, no commercial rights | 10 robotic voices, text-to-speech only |
| First paid tier | $10 per month annual, $19 monthly | $29 per month |
| Commercial rights | full commercial rights on every paid tier | not stated on the consumer pricing page |
| Subtitle export | SRT and VTT from Starter | not stated |
| Audio export | MP3 on Starter and Pro; MP3, OGG, TXT, WAV on Business | not stated |
| Voice count | not stated | 1,000+ |
| Language count | not stated; individual plans list all English voices | 60+ |
The empty cells are not accidents. Speechify’s consumer page is a reading plan, so it does not need to answer a producer’s questions about WAV files and subtitle timing. WellSaid’s page is a studio plan, so it does not need to publish a thousand novelty voices.
The delivery gap is the real gap
A voice over is finished when an editor can drop the file into a timeline without re-encoding it and when the caption track lands on the right frames. WellSaid publishes both halves of that sentence. Starter includes SRT and VTT, and the plan table names MP3 for Starter and Pro. On Business, the list grows to MP3, OGG, TXT, and WAV.
Speechify’s consumer page does not list an audio format or a subtitle format. That does not prove the product cannot export audio; it proves the page is not written for someone who needs to know. If you are delivering to a broadcaster or a client with a spec sheet, the missing line is a real cost: you have to test the export yourself before you can promise it.
The licence gap is narrower than it looks
WellSaid states full commercial rights for paid accounts. That is about as clear as this category gets: the right is attached to the plan, not buried in a terms page.
Speechify’s consumer pricing page does not mention commercial rights at all. Speechify Studio may have its own terms, but the Studio plan table was not part of the page we checked. A buyer should not read silence as permission. If the audio will run in a monetized video or a client campaign, get the licence in writing before the first take.
The annual arithmetic
WellSaid publishes two views of the same plan. Starter is $10 per month on the annual view, or $19 month to month. That is $120 per year versus $228 per year. Pro is $33 per month annually, or $49 monthly, which is $396 versus $588.
Speechify Premium is $29 per month, or $348 if you keep it for a year at the monthly rate. The comparison is not like for like: one is a production seat, the other is a reading subscription. But the numbers explain why teams sometimes try to use a reading plan for production work, and why that usually ends with a second purchase.
Where Speechify wins
Speechify’s catalog is the obvious advantage: 1,000+ voices across 60+ languages. If you need to proof a script in a language you do not speak, or you want a quick listen across several markets, that breadth is useful.
The reading features matter too. The paid plan bundles listening tools that a pure voice studio does not try to offer. For a writer, an editor, or a student, that is the actual product; voice over is a side effect.
Where WellSaid wins
WellSaid wins on the four things a production desk checks before it sends a file: a named commercial right, a subtitle format, a WAV path, and a plan price that can be quoted without a sales call. The catalog is smaller in published terms — the site does not state a voice count — but the delivery surface is more complete.
The trade-off is language coverage. WellSaid’s individual plans list all English voices, and no language total appears on the plan page. If the script is multilingual, that is a serious limitation, and Speechify’s 60+ languages become the stronger argument.
Who should pick which
WellSaid fits:
- client narration with a licence requirement;
- videos that need SRT or VTT captions;
- editors who want a WAV on the business tier;
- English-first projects where delivery spec matters more than catalog size.
Speechify fits:
- reading, proofing, and listening workflows;
- quick voice checks across many languages;
- internal audio that does not need a commercial licence line;
- teams already paying for a reading tool and not producing client deliverables.
The question neither page answers
Neither vendor publishes an emotion or style count on the pages we checked. If the script needs a specific tone — warm, urgent, deadpan — ask for a test read. A thousand voices are useless if none of them lands the line.
For the full field, see the 2026 results table and the method that produced it.
FAQ
Is Speechify a voice over tool or a reading tool?
Speechify's consumer plans are built around listening: its free tier is limited to text-to-speech with ten robotic voices, and its paid tier adds features such as Scan and Listen and AI Summaries. That is a different job from producing a licensed narration file for a client video. Speechify Studio is a separate product whose plan terms were not on the consumer pricing page we checked.
Which one publishes subtitle files?
WellSaid does. Its pricing page lists SRT and VTT exports from the Starter plan upward. Speechify's consumer pricing page does not list a subtitle format, so we record that field as not publicly disclosed rather than assuming the capability.
How much does WellSaid cost per year?
The annual view lists Starter at $10 per month, which is $120 per year, or $19 per month if billed monthly, which is $228 per year. Pro is $33 per month annually ($396 per year) or $49 monthly ($588 per year). All four totals are simple multiplication of the published monthly rates.
Can I use the free tiers for client work?
No. WellSaid's free trial is three download minutes per month with no commercial rights. Speechify's free tier is a reading plan with ten robotic voices. Neither free tier is a licence to deliver paid work.